Open Enrollment for Individual Marketplace Insurance Begins November 1st

LITTLE ROCK, AR (October 25, 2017) – Arkansas Health Insurance Marketplace (AHIM) announced today that open enrollment for the state’s My Arkansas Insurance Individual Marketplace will begin on November 1, 2017 and end on Friday, December 15, 2017.

Individual plans are designed to meet the needs of Arkansas families and provide a variety of options to fit household budgets. Each plan from which to choose provides comprehensive benefits and is administered by trusted insurance providers.

Each option includes standard health care benefits including inpatient care, outpatient services, and prescription drugs. The plans also emphasize the importance of preventative care and screenings, most of which do not require a co-payment. Most importantly, there are no lifetime limits and no restrictions for pre-existing conditions. And, financial help is available to help pay for the cost of insurance.

The open enrollment period begins November 1. To avoid a federally-mandated penalty on 2018 tax returns, individuals and/or families must be enrolled by December 15, 2017. For those uninsured in 2018, the penalties could be $695 per person. Arkansans who currently have coverage through the marketplace should also visit by Dec. 15 to explore new plans and prices.


Arkansas Health Insurance Marketplace (AHIM) was created to manage and implement a state-based health insurance exchange in Arkansas in accordance with state and federal law. AHIM was established by the 89th Arkansas General Assembly 2013 Regular Session by ACT 1500 and is a nonprofit public benefit corporation. My Arkansas Insurance is the state-based exchange established and managed by AHIM.

AHIM is governed by the Arkansas Health Insurance Marketplace Board of Directors. Members of the AHIM Board are appointed by the Governor, President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The AHIM Board reports to the Arkansas Health Insurance Marketplace Legislative Oversight Committee.